Female songstress Adina Thembi bagged nine nominations for the 22nd edition of the Vodafone Ghana Music Awards (VGMA).

The sensational vocalist who had numerous hits in 2020 was nominated for Artiste of the Year, Album of the Year, Best Afrobeats/Afropop Artiste, Best Music Video, Collaboration of the Year, Record of the Year, Songwriter of the Year, Best Female Vocal Performance and Best Afrobeats/Afropop Song.

Kidi also bagged eight nominations including Artiste of the Year, Most Popular Song of the Year, Best Collaboration of the Year, EP of the Year, Best Highlife Song, Best Male Vocal Performance, Best Afrobeats/Afropop Artiste, and Best Afrobeats/Afropop song.

The most decorated artiste in the history of the awards scheme, Sarkodie, got seven nominations for this year’s awards and could potentially win his third Artiste of the Year having won it in 2010 and 2012.

Reigning VGMA Artiste of the Year, Kuami Eugene got seven nominations and could perhaps win his second consecutive Artiste of the Year award having being nominated in the category again.

No Gospel musician has ever won the Artiste of the Year award since the inception of the awards in 1999 but Gospel music Star Diana Hamilton who received six nominations would be looking to break that jinx.

This year’s awards themed “Stronger with Music” celebrates outstanding music acts, industry players who have excelled in the year under review.

Below is the full list of nominees:

Gospel Song of the Year
Blessed – Akesse Brempong ft. Joe Mettle
Favour Everywhere – Celestine ft. Evelyn Wanjiru
Adom – Diana Hamilton
Jesus Over Do – Empress Gifty
Yesu Mo – Joe Mettle
Jesus – MOGmusic
Jejeli – KobbySalm ft. Okey Sokay
Who Say God No Dey – Kofi Karikari

Best Gospel Artiste
Akesse Brempong
Celestine Donkor
Diana Hamilton
Empress Gifty
Joey Mettle
MOG Music
Efe Grace
Eric Jeshrun

Highlife Song of the Year
Posti Me – Akwaboah
Playboy – Dada Hafco ft. Akwaboah
Enjoyment – KiDi
Behind The Scenes – Kofi Kinaata
Open Gate – Kuami Eugene
Asabone – Lord Paper ft. Bosom P-Yung
Later – Mr. Drew ft. Kelvyn Boy
Party – Sista Afia ft. Fameye

Hiplife Song of the Year
Thank God – DopeNation ft. Kofi Kinaata
Enough Is Enough – Eno Barony ft. Wendy Shay
Long Life – Fameye ft. Kwesi Arthur
No Dulling – Keche ft. Kuami Eugene
Dw3 Remix – Krymi xr Drew ft. All Stars
Pilolo – Strongman ft. Kelvyn Boy
Happy Day – Sarkodie ft. Kuami Eugene
Ghetto Boy – Tulenkey ft. Kelvyn Boy & Medikal

Hip-Hop Song of the Year
Ataa Adwoa – Bosom PYung
Otan Hunu – Dead Peepol ft Rich Kent. Akobam – Joey B ft Medikal & Kofi Mole
Ekorso – Kofi Jamar ft. Yaw Tog & Ypee
Money – Kweku Flick Live from 233 – Kwesi Arthur
La Hustle Remix – Medikal ft Joey B & Criss Waddle
Sore – Yaw Tog ft O’kenneth, City Boy, Reggie, Jay Bahd
Force Dem To Play Nonsense – Eno Barony ft. Sister Derby & Strongman

Reggae/Dancehall Song of the Year
Why – Adina
Sheriff – MzVee
Forever – Samini
Lonely – Jah Lead
Killy Killy Rmx – Larruso ft Stonebwoy & Kwesi Arthur
Make Up – Kaphun ft Stonebwoy
Gye Diee – Ras Kuuku ft MOGmusic
Mi Dey Up Rmx – Kofi Jamar ft Stonebwoy

Afrobeats/Afropop Song of the Year
Take Care of You – Adina ft Stonebwoy
Inna Song – Darkovibes ft King Promise
Forever – Gyakie
Momo – KelvynBoy ft Mugeez & Darkovibes
Say Cheese – KiDi
Sisa – King Promise
Turn On the Lights – Kwesi Arthur
Let Me Know – Mr. Drew
Maria – Camidoh
Emergency – Wendy Shay

VGMA Unsung Act
Oseikrom Sikani
Malcolm Nuna
Kwame Yogot
Kobby Tuesday
Naana Blu
Adelaide The Seer
Queendalyn Yurglee

Best Video of the Year
Why – Adina
Fancy – Amaarae
Adom – Diana Hamilton
Cold – Joey B
Open Gate – Kuami Eugene
On the Street – Kweku Smoke
Let Me Know – Mr. Drew
Baddest Boss – MzVee
Kpa – Okyeame Kwame
Thomas Pompoyeyaw rmx – Pappy Kojo

Record of the Year
Be Your Own Beautiful – Adomaa
Daddy’s Little Girl – Adina
Fancy – Amaarae
Die 4 U – Cina Soul
Too Much – Epixode
Diplomatic Teef – Trigmatic
Commot – Worlasi
Mmusuo – YaaYaa

Songwriter of the Year
Diana Hamilton – Adom
Kofi Kinaata – Behind the Scenes
Adina – Hyedin
Joe Mettle – Yesu Mo
Abiana – Adun Lei
Epixode – Too Much

Best Highlife Artiste
Kofi Kinaata
Kuami Eugene
Sista Afia
Dada Hafco

Best Afrobeat /Afropop Artiste
Kelvyn Boy
King Promise
Mr Drew
Wendy Shay

Instrumentalist of the Year
Joshua Moszi
Nana Yaw Sarfo
Prince Sennah
Emmanuel Bludo Enoch
Owuraku Kissi

Male Vocalist of the Year
KiDi – One Man
Joe Mettle – Yesu Mo
Akwaboah – Posti Me
MOGmusic – Oguamma
Kyei Mensah – Take It All
Kingsley Amporful – God

Female Vocalist of the Year
Abiana – Adun Lei
Adina – Hear Me
Cina Soul –Die 4 U
YaaYaa – Mmusuo
Efe Grace –Lord Have Your Way
Enuonyam –Fill Me

Best Group of the Year
Bethel Revival Choir
Dead Peepol

Producer of the Year
Chris Rich Beats
Yung Demz
Street Beatz
Richie Mensah
MOG Beatz
Willis Beatz

EP Of The Year
Blue – KiDi
Seed – Gyakie
Different – Guilty Beatz
Mood Wings – Edem
SFTWTINTT – Kwesi Arthur
The Truth – Kofi Jamar

Hiplife/Hip-Hop Artiste of the Year
Eno Barony
Joey B
Kofi Jamar
Kwesi Arthur
Yaw Tog

Best Collaboration of the Year
Take Care Of You – Adina ft Stonebwoy
Inna Song – Darkovibes ft King Promise
No Dulling – Keche ft Kuami Eugene
One Man – KiDi ft Adina
Ekorso ft Kofi Jamar ft Yaw Tog & Ypee
La Hustle Rmx – Medikal ft Criss Waddle & Joey B
Happy Day – Sarkodie ft Kuami Eugene
Sore – Yaw Tog ft O’Kenneth, Reggie, Jay Bhad, & City Boi

Best Rapper of the Year
Best Rapper – Amerado
God is A Woman – Eno Barony
Cold – Joey B
Medikal – Stop It
Brown Paper Bag – Sarkodie
Flawless – Strongman Burner

African Artiste of the Year
Burna Boy
Master KG
Fire Boy DML
Omah Lay

Best Reggae/Dancehall Artiste
Ras Kuuku

International Collaboration of the Year
Favour Everywhere – Celestine Donkor ft Evelyn Wajiru
The One – Efya ft Tiwa Savage
Something Nice – Kofi Kinaata ft Patoranking
Show Body – Kuami Eugene ft Falz
Baajo – Kwesi Arthur ft Joe boy
CEO Flow – Sarkodie ft E-40
Paper – Sista Afia ft Victor D
Thomas Pompoyeyaw Rmx – Pappy Kojo ft Busisiwa

Vodafone Most Popular Song of the Year
Atta Adwoa – Bosom P Yung
Adom – Diana Hamilton
No Dulling – Keche ft Kuami Eugene
Enjoyment – Kidi
Sisa – King Promise
Ekorso – Kofi Jamar ft Yaw Tog & Ypee
Open Gate – Kuami Eugene
La Hustle Rmx – Medikal ft Criss Waddle & Joey B
Happy Day – Sarkodie ft Kuami Eugene
Sore – Yaw Tog ft O’Kenneth, Reggie, Jay Bhad & City Boi
Say Cheese – Kidi
Inna Song – Darkovibes ft King Promise

Album of the Year
Araba – Adina
Kpanlogo – Darkovibes
Son Of Africa – Kuami Eugene
The Truth – Medikal
Inveencible – MzVee
10 am – Strongman Burner
Black Star – Kelvyn Boy
Lava Feels – Joey B

Best New Artiste of the Year
Bosom P Yung
Dead Peepol
Kofi Jamar
Kweku Flick
Mr Drew
Yaw Tog

Artiste of the Year
Diana Hamilton
Kuami Eugene

By Media1

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *